Home > Uncategorized > Media Theory & Research

Media Theory & Research

For my paper I will be comparing the alternative news source, Feminist International Radio Endeavor (FIRE) to a mainstream new source.  The information from FIRE is presented in a traditional journalism manner but also has radio clips.  The article/radio clips are discussing immigration laws and the harsh treatment imprisoned illegal immigrants receive.  The writer also touches upon the Arizona immigration law.

Between qualitative and quantitative research, I will mainly be using qualitative.  There is no numerical data that I will be comparing but rather facts, interviews, and beliefs.  Since my topic is a slightly controversial topic, I will be comparing FIRE to more than one mainstream news media source.  I think that by doing this it will add more perspectives thus leading to a deeper understanding of the topic.  I also think that it will be adding more to my qualitative approach because I will have more viewpoints to compare.

Framing will also play a role in my paper because it will affect how I interpret the perspectives and how I will incorporate the information into my paper.  Because my alternative news source is feminist based, I think people will have pre-conceived notions and be hesitant about reading and listening to the material.  By offering different perspectives about the issue, it will show that a feminist news source can provide the same information as a mainstream media.  Also it will show that this alternative news source can offer interesting and different insights on current events.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 23, 2011 at 1:38 am

    You will be doing qualitative research – good. You’ll be focusing on analyzing just two stories from two different sources, so you’ll be looking for patterns within the stories. You won’t need to do interviews, but I imagine you’ll find evidence of a feminist perspective in FIRE that you won’t find in mainstream – your challenge will be to identify this and make the argument that it’s there by highlighting word choice, experts cited, how the evidence is presented, etc.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment