Home > Uncategorized > Final Blog

Final Blog

I found the story on Wal-Mart very
interesting. There are some very interesting facts presented in this chapter. I
was not aware Wal-Mart employed 1.5 million people. I also had no idea Wal-Mart
was founded in1962. I had always thought it was a much younger corporation than
that. I found fact stated in the chapter that Wal-Mart received over 3 billion
dollars in tax payer money difficult to believe. I would like to see how that
number was formulated, and if the tax breaks mentioned before in the chapter
were included in the formation of that number, because if Wal-Mart received
over 3 billion dollars in tax payer money our governments spending habits are
even more out of control than I thought they were.

I felt
that some of the facts that were presented in the chapter were presented in a
way that was confusing to me as a reader. For instance, when he mentions that
Wal-Mart buys more from china than any other corporation, he adds that Chinese factory
workers in 2005 made 40 cents an hour on average and in 2008 the Wal-Mart CEO
made $32 million including benefits. These are statistics that are stated at
the end of a paragraph and are never elaborated on or revisited to give any relevance
to them. That leaves me to conclude that they were included in the chapter to
make Wal-Mart look bad for the CEO making $32 million a year and the Chinese factory
workers making 40 cents an hour. These statistics can be misleading for several
reasons. For one, workers in a Chinese factory are not employed by Wal-Mart so
there is really no relation there. Another reason is that China doesn’t use
dollars and cents, it has its own currency that is valued far below the U.S.
dollar, so while 40 cents an hour may sound awful to us it could mean something
completely different for them. I’m sure it’s not good by any means, but it’s
probably better than we might think.

I would
like to ask the author how he goes about conducting his research. I find it can
be difficult to find credible sources and clear facts, especially when
searching online, and I would like to find out how to do so more effectively.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. Kathleen
    November 14, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks, Ben! Good question, and I’m glad you brought it up in class on Thursday. Hopefully, our speaker’s answer was helpful to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

