Home > Uncategorized > Media Globalization Blog

Media Globalization Blog

Our interaction with South High School relates to trends in globalization for many reasons. By sharing our videos with them, we shared a piece of our culture from University of Denver, and our personal beliefs. We projected our opinions about problems or successes in the media and hoped to either spark an idea about the media in the students or help them understand why a specific aspect in the media was problematic or thriving. They also shared their videos with us, and helped us experience the culture of South High School. Personally, I experienced a much different aspect of South than I had heard rumors about. Being from Colorado, I had always associated South with a negative connotation, but meeting with the students and watching their video, I was shown that the students are cultured (not only from their own culture but of their fellow students), aspiring, and definitely capable of doing significant things. The video we watched in class about South was very interesting to me, seeing how they embrace and celebrate each others’ home countries.

About cultural imperialism, I learned that the United States is truly dominating. The statistics and facts stated in the Chapter reinforced opinions I had about cultural imperialism. For example, nearly three quarters of Avatar’s gross box office receipts came from foreign markets (333). This was funny to me because I had actually seen the film when I was in Hungary, and the film was in English with Hungarian subtitles. I also learned about the global village. It helped me understand how other countries are more open to the global village than the United States. For example, other countries are determined to speak English, listen to American music, and watch American films. However, as Americans, we do not embrace the same way. Yes, we take different languages at school, but how many students actually pursue the language and successfully use it? Also, foreign films and music are definitely not accepted or really ever watched.

Global media regulation is inevitable, however, I feel that it is very limiting for US culture. When looking at the music industry, American artists are incredibly successful around the world. They are constantly promoted by TV and radio, and other cultures definitely accept them. Smaller music industries, on the other hand, don’t even have the option of being promoted in the United States. They are unable to compete, because the main companies don’t leave room for rivalry. I feel that as Americans, we don’t experience as much culture and culture is not as welcomed.

I think that yes, I would want to change my video after showing it to an audience. Because I made it, the message was obviously clear to me. However, I felt that it definitely was not clear enough. Also, we chose three topics to dissect: Facebook, E-Harmony, and Twitter. If we just chose one and went in-depth, the message would have been stronger and easier to follow. Also it would have been more spreadable, especially to those from different cultures. I feel that our video now just reaches out to Americans, which is very limiting.

  1. November 8, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Great reflection, Ally. I especially appreciated your insight into the fact that so many around the world learn English and are interested in U.S. culture whereas in the U.S. we tend to be resistant to films and music that come from outside the U.S. Our media system certainly does seem to perpetuate this problem, doesn’t it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

