Home > Uncategorized > Zach Stroup Blog #1

Zach Stroup Blog #1

While I was reading the first few pages of the assigned article I couldn’t believe how such a movement transformed into one of the biggest success stories of all time. The ipod as everybody knows is an unbelievable asset. To get Duke University signed up with the apple company was a brilliant decision. Who would use an ipod more than college student? And then when they decided to have individual classes make apps specifically for that class, you realize why it became such a huge success.

My story that goes along with the first chapter was my student-organized trip to China. I traveled with forty students and four adults and had the opportunity to interact with Chinese students for two weeks. When I first arrived there I couldn’t fathom how much of a different culture they were living in. Everything they did was different then the life I lived. Especially school, at an early age they are given the choice of what they want to do whether it is a chef, ping-pong player, or ballerina. When I got a chance to know some kids, I realized that they are not becoming a chef or ballerina because they have to, they are doing it because they want to. I think that goes along with the argument on page 85 that if kids are studying for a purpose and they have a payoff they try a lot harder.

This learning experience helped me realize the quality of the work they do. But again I feel like part of it is because that is what they want to do. If I had the opportunity to stick to one thing my whole life and I wanted to be successful in it I believe I could, just like anybody else. Another thing I noticed when I watched them perform a regular everyday class was how well they communicated with each other and helped each other out. They realized that to perform to the best of your ability you had to give and take feedback with no animosity towards the other person.

My trip to China was probably the best thing that has ever happened to me. I had a chance to interact with citizens of another country and I learned a great deal doing it. Communication was key to my trip because without it I wouldn’t of been able to learn the things that I did.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Kathleen
    October 16, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Zach, it sounds like your trip to China was a rewarding experience in many ways. Please leave a comment describing what you believe to be an appropriate boss-level challenge for this class to receive credit for the assignment. Thanks!

  2. November 15, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    I think an appropriate boss-level challenge for this class is to fully understand how races, gender, age, and other demographics affect media and how they portray it in different shows, news programs etc. I have learned that all of these demographics sway tv shows in different ways and stereotype certain classes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

