Home > Uncategorized > BLOG 1

BLOG 1

When you grow up, you never picture the way your life will actually turn out. For some, dreams come true. For others, the hard knocks of life come to your door, and you have no choice but to answer. Joining the military is not something that I would have ever pictured myself doing, but with certain circumstances, there are obstacles you face that are almost impossible to avoid. The Army was most definitely a challenge for me. It was not just the adjustment to that way of living or the physical demands that one should expect, but it was the way you have to reprogram your mind and your way of thinking. I have always thought of myself as a logical thinker, but in the Army, there is no such thing as logic. I developed my critical thinking ability in high school by always challenging myself with classes that focus on development of certain thinking abilities. Rarely does the Army require critical thinking skills, but I was at an advantage when the time arose for such skills. The way that most things make sense in the “real” world, also known as the “civilian” world, plays no part in how the Army operates. I was taken completely out of my element, and everything I thought I knew, certain things that simply just made sense, had no value or definition in the Army. My experience was eye opening in that it showed to me what society neglects to show. The way people are portrayed in the media and in society is a highly distorted view from the perspective of the average “American” with no real knowledge about the specific thing they are generally discussing. Quality of anything done in the Army is not of the best, and I was more prepared than others and more equipped to judge certain qualities of bodies of work and other things that require critique in the Army. Technology and communication had little to no effect on this learning experience, but media did. Media played a huge part, because there was always a standard to be held to in the public eye, and how we were portrayed in the smallest sense, was how we were.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Kathleen
    October 1, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Hi Paris, nice post. I can only imagine what a comprehensive learning experience Army training would be. Please leave a comment with your thoughts on an appropriate “Boss-level” challenge for this class. Thanks!

  2. October 10, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    An appropriate “Boss-level” challenge for this class would be actually diving into media and culture for a day outside of the classroom. We could all be assigned some aspect of media and the American culture to research and work on while actually being “in” society’s midst.

    • Kathleen
      October 16, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      Thanks, Paris! I’ve updated blackboard to reflect your completion of this assignment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

