Home > Uncategorized > Neely Blog Number One

Neely Blog Number One

When I was a junior in high school my language arts teacher asked us to make a life list for part of our final. It was interesting because it made me think about what was actually important in my life. I prioritized all of my goals and realized that I want to be a screenwriter and a musician more than anything else. Most of my goals involved movies or music. If I wasn’t writing or creating movies or music I was participating in some way. I wanted to go to every major music festival in the world as well as every major film festival. The assignment was interesting because it didn’t force any ideas of what our lives should be. It merely gave me the guidelines to choose what I wanted for my own life.

Many students blew this assignment off and made a joke out of it but I recognized it as a powerful opportunity to prioritize my life. I am very thankful for this assignment. In general, my goals were very specialized to certain areas but there were a few outliers as well. I wanted to climb three fourteeners, I wanted to learn to speak three languages fluently, own a cat and a dog, learn to snowboard and live in a foreign country for at least six months. I noticed that there are some things that everyone wants. Nearly everyone I talked to wanted to find a love in their own lives.

This assignment was graded for completion because it difficult to put a grade on someones personal goals. Even if one person’s goals seemed or strange or unambitious, it was unimportant because one’s own goals were the only ones that mattered. While I still have many goals uncompleted, I have accomplished many of the goals and I am making progress on others. This assignment seemed trivial to some but I think it will stay with me for my entire life. I still have the sheet and I consult it from time to time to see how I have progressed in the recent weeks and months

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. September 21, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    I certainly appreciate the candid nature of your submission, and it’s enjoyable to read, but try to include a little more material from the reading (so as to definitively prove you read all of the assignment). Thanks! Good job – full credit for the assignment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

