Home > Uncategorized > Individuality, Ipods, and Travel

Individuality, Ipods, and Travel

I find hard to pin down the most fun or most memorable learning experience I have ever had. It is easy however, to know what type of learning experiences has impacted me the most in the way I think and make judgments. Travel has had the most influence on my life and the way I think and make decisions. When I first started to read this article and how it relates to my learning experience the part about “transforming the iPod into an academic device,” what first came to mind was all the schools where this isn’t the case. While the article is describing universities I can’t help but think of how we have more and more new technology and I have visited schools in Africa where there is no technology available to these kids for their education. When I visited a secondary school in Tanzania we brought them school supplies like pencils, pens, paper, and so much more because they didn’t even have the basics. Now that is an extreme case so I thought about the Ipods and how they were involved in my other travel experiences.

When I went on my People to People trip through Italy, France, and Spain the way I bonded with one girl was through the music we had on our Ipods. We had similar interests in music and she gave me a list of songs to get when I came home. On the bus as well as on the plane our iPods played a crucial role in our entertainment and our bonding as a group. When we listened to songs together we grew closer and learned more about the other people we were traveling with. Now this isn’t exactly an academic experience with iPods but they were involved in the academic experience of the trip. We learned about our similarities and differences and our iPods played a key role in this process.

The article talks about in both chapter three and chapter four about different learning styles and how people think differently. This is one of the things I love most about travel: learning about different types of people and diverse ways of thinking. Chapter four discusses the way kids are assessed in school all in the same way. “Americans take over 600 million standardized tests annually,” but a standardized test in only assessing in one way, which isn’t a fair assessment due to the fact we all think differently. Throughout my many travels I have traveled with around one hundred people not including the people I have met in all these countries. If I have learned anything it is that we are all unique and all have something different to bring to the table so there is no reason why we should have to be assessed constantly in the same way.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 21, 2011 at 12:05 am

    You’ve had a fortunate life, being able to travel as much as you have. Sounds like you appreciate it as well. Well written blog, easy to read and engagingly conversational. Although you clearly read the material and responded appropriately, I would have liked to have seen just a little more elaboration on some of the reading material. Still, good job. Full credit for the assignment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

