Home > Uncategorized > finding your way

finding your way

Everyone at some point in his or her life has a moment, when something up top just clicks.  It is as if a light bulb suddenly turns on and everything makes sense and you know what you want to do with your life.  While I still don’t know what I want to do with my life, I can recall one moment in time when the universe was shining down on me, and it happened right here at DU. My family I were attending a freshman luncheon here at DU the spring before school started.  After lunch, there was a guest speaker by the name of Corey Ciochetti, who happened to be a professor here at DU.  He spoke for roughly 45 minutes and touched on so many topics, yet he was so insightful that I was moved by his words.  While I wasn’t even a freshman in college yet, I was motivated to take on the world and achieve my life goals.  The quote from the story that made me think of this moment in my life was “There is no one way to move along a straight-and-narrow road from beginning to end.”  This pertains to the lecture Mr. Ciochetti gave because he didn’t know what he wanted to do with his life.  He was working a miserable job where he never saw his family.  So, he did what he wanted to do and it lead him to where he is today, and he couldn’t be happier.  Through his experiences, he was able to communicate to me what he had done, and where he’d been.  It felt like Aristotle had come back from the dead to preach to me elements of higher learning.  The following quote keeps with the theme of technology and how our lives have evolved.  It states “Grading measures some things and fails to measure other things, but in the end, all assessment is circular.”  As our lives have evolved, so have the way we conduct class and even grade this courses, which is one of the main objectives of this article.  In regards to  the boss-level challenge for the class, I feel that we have a good class and can push each other to constantly put together good work.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 21, 2011 at 5:16 am

    Try and balance your writing out a little. You’ve given a rich description of your response to the reading material, but you’ve mentioned very little about the material itself. This gives a sort of ‘one-sided conversation’ feel to your work. Just something to keep in mind for next time. Otherwise good job, full credit for the assignment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

