There have been plenty of events that have occurred throughout my life that have taught me so much and really have shaped me as a person.  The one event that stands out the most for me was during one of the hardest lacrosse tryout I’ve ever gone to.  It was the U-19 national team try-out and I wanted to come home after the first hour of a three-day try-out.  When I called home to basically complain and beg to come home my dad stopped me right away and told me, “Ali, the only way to be the best is to play against the best.”  I think the reason this stuck out as such a memorable learning experience is because it changed my mentality is because it made me understand even when you’re not the best, playing against the best is only gonna make you better.  This really affected how i thought and thus how i played.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 21, 2011 at 5:26 am

    This is *just* barely acceptable. Six sentences? This doesn’t really reflect that you’ve engaged, or read, the material at all. Definitely aim higher for the next assignment or I’ll ask for a re-submission.

  2. September 21, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    I think this is an interesting example of learning; however, can you relate it to the development of critical thought that can cross from your experiences in sports to your experiences in learning more generally? In order to receive credit for this assignment, you’re going to need to resubmit it and, as required, offer citations from each of the chapters to demonstrate that you’ve read the material and have been able to relate what you’ve read to your own experience of learning in some way. Please resubmit by Wed Sept 28 (you can do this by adding a comment here with a revision of your first entry). Thanks!

    • September 22, 2011 at 3:30 am

      so i had no idea that i posted that on the blog, that was the beginning of my original one but then i realized that it wasnt totally correct and im having a lot of trouble posting the real blog and deleting the old one…..im gonna send the one that was supposed to be submitted to wordpress in another email just until i can figure out how to make the corrections on wordpress

      sorry for the mess up, Ali Proehl

  3. September 22, 2011 at 3:23 am

    oh no that wasnt the one i meant to sent! im really sorry that was what i was originally going to write but then i reread part of the chapter and didnt think i had got it quite right. I had no idea this submitted…i thought it didnt, ill submit the actual one

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

