Home > #2, Media diary > Blog 2: Media Diary

Blog 2: Media Diary

Friday (1/7)

11:43 am: used phone to text

12:15: listened to Pandora radio in the car

12:30 – 4 pm: listened to music at a friend’s house and read a book on and off

6 – 7:30 pm: on my laptop, I watched an episode of American Dad! on Hulu and surfed around the internet on other sites such as Facebook.  I was listening to music the whole time.

7:30 – 8:30 pm: read a book

Saturday (1/8)

10:30 am: used phone to text

10:30 – 11 am: listened to music in my room

11 – 11:20 am: listened to music in my car

12 – 6 pm: listened to music at a friend’s house and read a book, occasionally used my Android phone to surf to random sites on the internet

7 pm – 7:30 pm: watched an episode of South Park on my laptop

9:15 pm: used the phone to text

9:30 – 10:30 pm: listened to music while hanging out at a friend’s house

10:30 pm – 2 am: went to a party, there was music. I used my phone on various occasions to text and call

Sunday (1/9)

9:15 am: used the phone to text

9:30 am: listened to music in the car

10 am – 12 pm: listened to music at a friend’s house

12-6 pm: listened to music and read a book, used my phone to surf the internet occasionally

6-7 pm: watched an episode of Family Guy on my laptop

7-9 pm: listened to music

9-11 pm: watched Grandma’s Boy

Monday (1/10)

10 am: used phone to text

11 am: listened to music in my car

11:30 am – 2 pm: listened to music and read at a friend’s house

2-2:30 pm: listened to music in my car

3-4 pm: used Twitter, Facebook, WordPress, email

4-6 pm: was online in class (for my class) with Gmail, Youtube, WordPress and Twitter

6-7 pm: used my phone to surf the internet and text

7:30 – 8 pm: watched an episode of The Simpsons on Hulu

8-10 pm: used my laptop and internet (social networking sites) to work on homework

Overall, despite the enormous quantity of technology and media outlets available out there, I don’t tend to indulge myself in them very habitually.  But I do tend to use communicational media for entertainment purposes first (seen in my huge use of music in my daily life), personal communication second, and work/school related communications third.  This is how it has always been for me for the most part, but now that I am taking only communication and journalism classes, a lot of my personal social-networking use is being cross-used between my classes and personal life (I have a Twitter, Youtube, WordPress and Gmail account for my classes). 

I mainly use the technology for the purpose of music – either buying or downloading or sharing and listening to it or making it.  It is a constant presence in my life whenever I have the free time to occupy it with music.  I even use my phone a lot these days to listen to music on the internet radio Pandora (I used my phone first for texting, second for calling, third for listening to music, and fourth for surfing the internet).  Even the times that I was surfing online this last weekend, it was highly probable that I was surfing around on music sites or Youtube to listen to music.  In this way, I use a lot of communicational media for my own entertainment purposes.

For personal communication, I mainly use my phone, but I do use tools such as Facebook, which I can also access on my phone.  However, although I do use technology and things to keep up with my personal communication, overall, I do not think I use my phone or Facebook that much.  I tend to keep their usages down to a minimal.  It seems to me I would rather listen to music or watch a movie than be actively engaged with people though my technological tools.  Perhaps in this way, I am more of a passive user of communicational media and technology rather than an active user that reaches out to connect with others.  And for this reason, I believe I use communicational media the least of all for my work/school because these are both duties that require you to be active and I do not like to spend a large amount of my work and school time going through emails and responding and scheduling appointments in datebooks and making phone calls.  I think my mind sees the potential for technology when it comes to entertainment because there are some incredibly engaging technological tools out there!

Categories: #2, Media diary Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

