Home > #2, Media diary > Media Blog

Media Blog

1/7/11

5:00-6:00 Talked on the phone with friends from home as well as parents

7:00-8:00 Made plans for the night with friends through texting

8:00-2:00 With friends, but texted boyfriend throughout the night 

1/8/11

12:00-1:00 Facebook and homework

1:00-3:00 Watched a movie with friends

3:00-5:00 Read on my Nook

5:00-7:00 Watched tv, checked email, went on the internet and checked current news websites  

7:00-8:30 Texted friends about plans for the evening

1/9/11

12:00-3:00 Facebook and homework, every once in a while I turned on the tv

3:00-4:00 Went on iTunes, bought music, organized library

4:00-4:30 Talked on the phone with friend from home

7:00-9:00 Homework, texting, checked current news websites

9:00-12:00 Read on my Nook

*I believe that personal interactions through media are what I seem to spend the most time doing. Even if I am doing homework or watching a movie, I am usually texting at the same time. Also, since I am subscribed to a few Twitter accounts for news updates, like CNN, BBC, and MSNBC that I have sent to my phone, I am constantly being sent updates about world events. This causes me to constantly check my phone’s messages. I do spend a significant amount of time on my computer for entertainment purposes, such as reading Facebook, checking my email, or checking news websites.

Categories: #2, Media diary Tags: ,
  1. Lynn
    January 10, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    Interesting insights, Michelle. This kind of exercise does seem to make me realize how much we use media for interpersonal connection, even though we tend to think of “media” as a source (rather than perhaps a facilitator) of entertainment. You’re definitely a multitasker!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

